But you’re skinny – A growing epidemic

From the overweight:

I can’t lose the weight

I stress eat

I’m not good enough

From the skinny:

I can’t get fat

I stress eat

I’m not good enough

Society thinks the same. No one wants to be overweight and unhealthy. We want to be OUR perfect weight, where no one talks about us. How skinny we are and how they jealous they’ve become, or how much we’ve grown – and not in the good way.

We try to make goals for ourselves. Let’s face it – most of society has a food addiction making those goals even harder to handle.

You get out of bed and immediately crave a donut. You stop yourself from picturing your grubby hands on the deliciousness. Battle 1 – Won. You start to drive to work and pass your favorite donut shop. Battle 2 – Won. You wish you felt victory. Instead you feel guilt for not getting what you wanted AND realize you have twelve more battles to win as there are twelve fast food restaurants between you and ultimate victory.

How can we find something that tastes just like the donut but doesn’t have all the calories?

Where is the happy medium between good and bad?

How can the sadness of not liking who we are keep us from working out?

Today I will focus on the small victories and give myself a few tastks.

I did not pick up a donut – Small Hooray

I will do yoga to practice my breathing and rid me of guilt for not picking up that tasty treat.

I will eat a healthy homemade dinner.

I will jump on the trampline for at least ten minutes.

This is all I can promise myself and today that will have to be enough.

What promises have you made lately? What victories do you have under your belt this week?

20130821-065753.jpg

20 thoughts on “But you’re skinny – A growing epidemic

  1. So far this week I was able to go to the fast food restaurant and only got coffee. WOOHOO! No breakfast sandwich. That was hard for me to overcome. I feel your doughnut craving.

  2. Our little victories are monumental! I hate having self-control when it comes to food, but then I always, always regret eating junk. We’re a little strange, aren’t we? Ha!

    • Why do we do it to ourselves? Like right now I’d love a pizza but I know that even though chicken won’t be pizza it’ll still make me feel even more normal and healthy!

Warning: I expect the weird to come out. Join the Weird Epidemic.

